The Brandon Planning Commission’s primary roles, defined by 24 V.S.A. Chapter 117,  are to gather information and draft updates for the Brandon Town Plan and Brandon’s zoning, which is currently called the Brandon Land Use Ordinance or “BLUO.”

The BLUO was last amended on August 27, 2018. The Commission’s current focus is to update and streamline problem areas within the BLUO – current priorities include signage, farm animals, Act 174 solar standards, mobile home parks, subdivisions and conditional uses. The Town Plan was updated in 2016, and the Planning Commission continues to work on updates as needed.

Once updates have been drafted, public hearings are held, revisions may be made, and the final plan, zoning, or other ordinance is recommended to the Select Board for adoption.

The Brandon Workbook updated in 2002 is available here.

The Brandon Planning Commission’s mission requires public input, whether by meeting, letter, email, or other means. Planning Commission meetings are usually held on the first Mondays of each month at 6 PM at the Brandon Town Hall located at 1 Conant Square. Adjustments to times, days, and location may change, after appropriate public notice. Check the latest minutes for details about upcoming meetings.

Current Planning Commissioners are:

Alexandra Breyer, Chair

Ralph Ethier

Bob Foley

Liz Gregorek

William Mills

Todd Nielsen

Lowell Rasmussen

Alison Walter, Vice-Chair

In May of 2018, the Select Board approved the formation of an Energy Committee to work jointly with and answer to the Planning Commission. This Committee will develop an Energy Plan with criteria that will assist property owners with energy projects and also help shape Brandon’s future development of renewable energy. Meetings are usually held prior to Planning Commission meetings.

Current Energy Committee Members are:

Matthew Orchard
Lowell Rasmussen
Jack Schneider
Edna Sutton

click here for Planning Commission agendas

click here for Planning Commission minutes 

click here for Energy Committee agendas

click here for Energy Committee minutes